EliotkidlogoThe Good: Eliot is a boy with a very active imagination who thinks everyone is a monster or a superheroe and is always creating stories out of everyday activities. It’s pretty fun!

The Bad: Mimi, one of his close friends, is devoted to Eliot and many episodes show she has a crush on him which he does not seem to reciprocate. That’s not the bad part; the really sad part is that she is constantly portrayed as “not the sharpest crayon in the box.”

My daughter watches this show and though I like how Eliot imagines adventures where they go to the mountains, the pharaos, underwater, outer space, and beyond, I don’t appreciate the girl being mocked constantly and her making self-deprecating comments. Sometimes she is a little funny though.

I think I prefer “Justin Time,” where Justin also imagines going to places around the world but his guide is Olivia, and she is actually the expert every time they visit a new place. I hope Netflix gets more seasons of that show. I looked it up and they have a second season.

Bonus points: The intro song on Eliot Kid is by Didier Julia and it’s a pretty cool jam. Considering moms and dads have to endure cartoon intro songs, it’s a welcome moment of groovy tunes.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

