The other day I was lamenting myself because I no longer find the same excitement for music as I used to. There are so many new bands that I don’t even bother to even check out and I think it’s because I’ve reached a musical climax or plateau where nothing seems good anymore. Or that I’m showing signs of old age. Or that old phrase that there’s nothing new under the sun. Then I heard Venegas had released a new album and that it was better than the vapid and unsavory “Si” and “Limon y Sal”.  I actually hadn’t even bothered to listen to “Otra Cosa,” which she released in 2010, because the reviews were not particularly impressive. Well, I told myself, I will check it out, with an open mind and only because after “Bueninvento,” which is her best album and an excellent compilation of breakup songs, her happiness didn’t impress  me in her next albums when she had found love and happiness, but her Unplugged album showed her musical skills and good collaborations with other musicians. She produced better versions of ‘Lento’ and ‘Algo esta cambiando.’ Before you say those albums are just more pop and there is nothing wrong with that, I should say that I know good pop and I think her Unplugged collaborator Natalia Lafourcade does it better.

Musically, I think “Momentos” doesn’t explore anything new, like she heard Foster the People and put some synthesizers to work. She didn’t go too far from her line of work and didn’t venture into places that would be ridiculous for her but I don’t feel there’s much difference between each song, particularly the first half of the album. However, her lyrics have certainly evolved and before I listened I hoped for that delicious bitterness which makes “Bueninvento” a strong drink but I was amazed by her maturity, instead of receiving rage, she took the long road and did not say what is “’Nothing important.” Maybe now that she is a mother she has a better perspective of what is truly important. I’ve heard that happens. ‘Vuelve’ is one of the best songs for her honest lyrics and social commentary, something new for her. Her body of work is mainly introspective.

Even though it’s not as intriguing or as interesting as I’d like, it’s better than her other pop albums and I hope to see better development of the electro pop element in her next album. In other words, good job Julieta, keep trying. Thanks for waking me from my musical slumber.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

