I’ve been reading a lot about menstruation lately. About how we have considered menstruation as a shameful process for a long time that would be best not to have at all in our lives. I remember the terror I felt when my mother informed me what would happen with my body every month and when it finally happened, the terrible shame I felt going to the store to buy pads with my cousin. I also remember the disgust I felt when I found out about the menstrual cups. The idea of having to introduce it with my fingers and get them full of blood seemed revolting, until one of the videos where a woman explained how to use the cups I heard her say “it’s your own blood, get over it,” which made reconsider this issue which has been handed down from generation to generation that our blood is dirty, that we can’t talk about it or even mention it, much less touch it. It is certainly a bodily waste fluid, however I think our attitude towards menstruation is a little extreme and the use of the menstrual cup has made me question all this.

Image

It’s my third month using the menstrual cup and it’s been a learning process. From learning how to put it on, to knowing my own body even more. The YouTube videos have been useful, but the actual practice has been the best way to learn, because each of our bodies is different.
 
I felt the need to use the cup not just because it’s more environmentally responsible but also because every pad out there available at most stores has some sort of “thermo control” chemical or component that literally sucks everything out of you and can even affect your Ph balance. I understand the smell is unpleasant but I think damaging my Ph is taking it one step too far.  I used to think the itchiness I felt after my period was over was normal until I read that it’s caused by the “thermo control” that ends up sucking up more than it should from my vagina. I never felt comfortable using tampons and I thought the cup would be uncomfortable too, but once I learned how to put it on, I have not found it uncomfortable at all. I still sanitary panty liners (found some natural ones online) but as my training wheels come off I’ll be pad free pretty soon!

I strongly recommend using the cup, it’s intimidating I know, I bought just in the middle of one of my cycles but I decided to wait until the next one because I was too freaked out. But as I’ve gotten more comfortable with it, I really find it is more in line with my body. It will save you money, it’s eco friendly and somehow I feel it has made me more comfortable with my cycle.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

One response »

  1. I’ve been all about the period lately too 😀 It’s I Heart My Moon Cycle month and I’m trying to have a better relationship to mine. Nice to meet you and this blog!

Leave a Reply

