Indepent filmmakers have launched a kickstarter campaign to fund a documentary about the Ovarian Psyco Cycles all-female bike crew and community group. Their goal is to raise $10,000 by February 23. “In East Los Angeles, the Ovarian Psycos are not only a bike crew, they are a new generation of women of color building a movement,” reads the fundraising platform. I have not been to any of their rides, but hopefully I can make it to their Saturday ride. I’m very curious about them and given that co-producers and co-directors Joanna Sokolowski and Kate Trumbull-LaValle have received support from the Independent Television Service (ITVS) Diversity Development Fund, with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), I imagine there’s many who will be interested in their story. If you would like to check their trailer and give your contribution here is the link:
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1743698310/the-ovarian-psycos-a-documentary-film

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

