I just came across this headline on Yahoo: “School shooting: Who’s to blame?” and it prompted me to say: everyone. Everyone wants children to be protected but no one takes the extra step, everyone is afraid to step in and help out when help is needed and it starts from there. Why do I say that? Because first of all, mental health is at the bottom of the budget at the federal, state, and local level and if we look at the need, there is a picture of despair. Even if parents ask and beg for help, there are simply not enough resources to help them out.

I worked at a mental health clinic for children for four years at the reception desk, and the number of calls we would get from desperate parents asking for help was three times more than what the clinic had budget for. Case workers had to make sure the situation was beyond the point of desperation to be able to offer an appointment, which meant many preventable cases were left to their own devices.

I’m all for better gun control, but if the general health system in the country is still generating controversy, there is even less space to debate on mental health. People don’t want to pay for other people’s healthcare, yet many of the problems that our society is facing today are due to health problems, including mental health. Many of our homeless people need medication, many of our children need help dealing with ADHD, autism, you name it, there is an illness named after it. Some illnesses are mental disorders, others are neurological disorders, either way there is no budget to help out all those in need. Many times with simple therapy treatment and medication, children can grow up and have healthy lives, but everyone needs to be involved in the treatment, that means parents, teachers, doctors, and yes, even tax payers, because sooner or later another tragedy will sadly occur and once again we will be asking who’s to blame. 

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

