The LA Union Station tunnel where

image

comutters come and go to catch the trains received dozens of protesters today at approximately 4 o’ clock, blasting through the usually silent space with megaphones and drums that stopped many commuters on their tracks to watch and listen to their plight.

image

A banner displayed read “Take Back LA” and many of the protesters held signs that read “No 710.”

The protest is about the extension of the 710 as a tunnel to join with the 210, which is part of measure R. According to EverythingLongBeach.com: “The I-710 south from the

image

Pomona Freeway (SR-60) to the Ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach will involve a freeway
widening and possibly a separate freight corridor that could be tolled.The 710 north gap closure between the I-10 and the I-210 would complete the natural goods corridor that was begun several decades ago. Metro has been holding a series of conversations and outreach with the community, in an effort to collect ideas on best options.”

image

Apparently those conversations have incited some disagreements, as evidenced by today’s protest.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

