In 1977, political punk was born in England, then settled in the U.S. in 1994, lived with pop for a while and later on relocated to a more austere, and properly repressive Russia in 2012. For those who are condemning the two year sentence for Pussy Riot members don’t seem to understand that in reality, this is a victory for punk rock. It is clearly wrong and lame to imprison three women for protesting in a church, but it is precisely the point they were trying to make and have garnered global attention to their plight. The Russian government can’t possibly deny they are repressing their people now right? The Russian rebellion has a clear and defined image and specific martyrs to incite further unrest. It is the perfect setting for a revolution, which doesn’t need to be violent. Pussy Riot has been able to protest  against an authoritative regime with music, and what better music to protest with than with punk rock? The genre that was born out of attitude and anger and disgust for the establishment. Yes, punk rock has finally come of age, adapted in the mainstream to appear harmless and acceptable to a greater audience, only to remain in silence underground, waiting for the chance to strike at the core of evil. I think it is brilliant, and even though I certainly feel for Nadezhda Tolokonnikova, Maria Alekhina and Yekaterina Samutsevich, and I wish for them to be free, please record their faces in your mind, because that’s what real punk rockers look like.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

