I used to wear make up when I went out, at least some mascara and lipstick, until my then boyfriend now husband told me he actually felt I looked more beautiful without makeup. I didn’t think of it as him making me look ugly so no other guy would look at me. I thought of it as him seeing me for who I really am, without need of artificial embellishment. I stopped using makeup after that, I have never been a high maintenance woman and I loved skipping more prep time. I occasionally wear makeup for special occasions but for the most part I’m content being makeup-free. Some people, like my mom, my stepmom and my grandmother, say I’m being controlled by my husband and I should defend my right to wear makeup. My dear sweet grandmother, never afraid to tell it like she sees it, told me I look ill without makeup. But my husband doesn’t mind if I wear makeup, he doesn’t forbid me to wear makeup, he simply gave the ok to not wear any, when I thought he would prefer me with makeup and when we were dating I will admit that yes, I liked making myself more attractive to him by wearing makeup. But to me it felt like a release that he could care less if I wear makeup or not. I’m not going to say I am extremely confident about my looks, and maybe I shouldn’t have worn makeup to cater to his aesthetic needs but I do like wearing makeup, I just don’t like the work, I’m lazy. Sometimes, if I feel like wearing makeup I do, although it is true that my husband hates it when I take too long, but that’s just something he knows he is going to have to deal with if we are going to a special event. I have never worn makeup every day, and I don’t understand why my femininity or “woman power” is directly linked with my interest in makeup. Somehow the notion that I am not “woman enough” because I choose to not wear makeup is still valid in the 21st century. I find it as ridiculous as the notion that you are not a woman unless you have children. My hair, on the other hand, is a different issue. I love changing my hair color, experimenting with different hairstyles, and whether my husband likes them or not, I am not going to stop. I don’t spend three hours styling my hair though, at least not on a daily basis. Perhaps I reduced my frequency of makeup wear because my husband inspire me to have more faith in my natural beauty, but the inclination to be free of makeup is all my own.

About denisefixcat

So this is my blog about basically being me and my adventures as a struggling writer, and mother to my beautiful and dangerously smarter than me daughter. My birth name is Denise but my friends call me Mini so this is basically why I've decided to call this blog De Mini Says. Sometimes I get things right, sometimes I get them utterly wrong, either way this is my attempt at making sense of it all. Since I enjoy music, art, technology, women's issues and cartoons, I also write about that and whatever comes up.

Leave a Reply

